Piotr Anderszewski, voyageur intranquille

By Bruno Monsaingeon

Piotr Anderszewski

Piotr Anderszewski is an exceptional Polish pianist, who in recent years has given solo concerts at the Carnegie Hall in New York, the Berlin Philharmonie and has played with the Orchestra of the Royal Concertgebouw. Far from the beaten path of a successful classical musician, in this portrait we experience an artist, who is permanently questioning his talent, his repertoire and his work as a performer. Recognised for the intensity and originality of his interpretations, Anderszewski has received several high profile awards including the prestigious Gilmore Award (2002), the Szymanowski Prize (1999) and the Royal Philharmonic Society's Best Instrumentalist Award (2001).

Piotr Anderszewski


Using fictional scenes at a real piano on a train that sets out during winter from Poland to Hungary and arrives in the sun of Lisbon, this documentary is punctuated by Anderszeweski’s highly personal reflections. He talks about the music of Bach, Mozart, Chopin, Beethoven, Brahms, Schumann and Szymanowski and makes references to the history of his country and Warsaw. Bruno Monsaingeon’s film explores Anderszewski's itinerant lifestyle and musical ideas and reflects on the paradoxes of being a professional performer. A beautiful music documentary with astounding scenes from live concerts, reminiscent of the young Glenn Gould.

  Piotr Anderszewski, Unquiet Traveller
France 2008, 84min. Video
French, English, Polish, German. Subtitles: English

Screenplay: Bruno Monsaingeon
Cinematography: Adam Rozanski
Sound: Henri Maïkoff
Editing: Jean-Pierre Bloc
Production: Idéale Audience/Ozumi Films
Distribution: Medici Arts

Bruno Monsaingeon is a violinist, filmmaker and writer who is renowned for his award-winning films about important interpreters of classical music. In particular, his documentaries on the piano virtuosos Glenn Gould and Swjatoslaw Richter figure as singular historical testimonies and cinematographically accomplished works. He has received numerous prizes and awards, among others from the German Gramophone Critic.